The department has a doctoral programme authorised by the Ministry of Education, and is listed as one of the key disciplines of Zhejiang province. This department offers three majors of broadcasting ( TV advertisement and director), art design in film and play, etc, mainly including three parts, film theory, filming technology, and creation.

Students: 212, including 21 master students.
Faculty: 16 teachers, including 1 professor and 3 associate professors.

Main courses: B/W photography, digital imaging, history of photography, photocomposition, studio photography, color photography, photographic expression techniques, commercial photography, portrait photography, photojournalism, etc.

Chair: Liu Zhihai

Deputy Chair: Fu Fan