The School of Architecture is located on the Xiangshan campus. It was firstly established in 1928 then merged into another university in 1952. In 1984, the environmental design institute was established and the Department of Environmental Design was set up in 1989. In 2003, the Department of Architecture was re-established. The School was established in 2007, aims to re-establish Chinese vernacular architecture on the basis of re-starting architecture education program in art colleges and improving Chinese architectural education and re-constructing Chinese vernacular characteristics in the international context. It tries to communicate with the contemporary architectural education of the world. it promotes vernacular, original and creative architectural, urban, environmental and landscape design. it tries to construct a natural and ecological society. Craftsmanship is emphasized and is one of the most unique features in its teaching concepts.

There are four departments, including Department of Architecture, Department of Urban Design, Department of Environmental Design and Department of Landscape Design.

There are also institutes such as Architectural Construction Research Center, Landscape and Architectural Design Institute, Architectural and Environmental Lab, Sustainable Construction Lab, Urban Space and Geographic Computer Lab, Landscape Ecological Lab, etc.

Students: 641, including 555 undergraduates, 71 master and 15 doctoral students.
Faculty: 36 teachers, including 5 professors and 12 associate professors.

Dean: Wang Shu

Deputy Dean: Ding Hongqi, Li Kaisheng, Shao Jian